Giving myself permission to be still

May 5, 2009

this was words that came across my desk that made me think of how I felt about the many times in my life that I find myself “still” and sometimes how that would make me frustrated.  Lady J

I had to learn to accept elation I felt after I had learned an important lesson, achieved a goal, or had a big breakthrough was sometimes be met with a period of downtime afterward. During those periods of transition, I would feel unsure or not know where to turn next. For me, during the pause between achievements, I would begin to wonder what my life was really about. I had to learn that those feelings were common and strike everyone from time to time. Human beings are active creature who feel best when we are working on a project or vigorously pursuing a goal. I also had to learn that there is nothing inherently wrong with spending a day, a week, or even a month simply existing and not having a plan. I had to learn to just be. It wouldn’t be long before I would embark upon my next voyage of growth and discovery.

The quiet lull into we which we fall between ideas, projects, and goals can make life seem empty. After accomplishing one objective, I would want to move immediately on to the next. However, when my next step was unclear, I felt frustrated, disconnected, and many times slip into a depression. I even perceive my lack of forward momentum as an indicator of imminent stagnation. To calm these distressing thoughts, I had to learn that if my goal was just personal growth, then I would continue to grow as an individual whether striving for a specific objective or not. Spending time immersed in life  and pleasures can be a cathartic experience that gives you the time you need to think about what you have recently gone through and take time to contemplate what you want to do next. You may also find that in simply being and going through the motions of everyday life, you reconnect with your priorities in a very natural and calm  way.

This transitional pause can take many forms. For some, it can be a period of reflection that helps them understand how their life has unfolded. For others, it can be a period of adjustment, where new values based on recent changes are integrated into daily life. Just because you’re not headed swiftly to a final destination doesn’t mean you should assume that you have lost your drive. The time between journeys can become a wonderful period of relaxation that prepares you for the path that will soon be revealed to you.
I learned to focus may be on what I consider practical and useful today. As I would endeavor to complete  routine goals, I felt more productive. More so when those efforts are met with success. A need to be seen as reliable can cause you to seek out opportunities to satisfy any obligations you have inadvertently ignored. When I become concerned with finding constructive solutions to the issues before me, I am always surprised to find myself  confronting challenges I have shied away from in the past. This is a perfect time to deal with elements of my personal and social lives that have caused much anxiety because I felt incapable of coping with them.

When we keep an image of what we hope to accomplish in our minds when working toward a specific goal, we tend to work harder and more efficiently, regardless of the nature of our circumstances. Since we are continuously thinking about the rewards that are potentially awaiting us at the conclusion of our endeavors, we cannot be deterred from pursuing the unique paths we have chosen to follow.
I am empowered to work through intense challenges that might otherwise overwhelm our dedication. Our visions of accomplishment give us the strength we need to cope with the myriad setbacks and delays we encounter as we strive to improve ourselves and our lives. You feel productive when I can understand precisely what I wish to achieve.

brought to you from Lady Jz Talk Zone

Leave a Reply

