presenting hearts of Kindness

July 29, 2009

http://www.myspace.com/sherry2468 

blinking diamond Pictures, Images and Photos

I apologize for the length of this page, however, I share this information to allow you to get to know who is asking you to help spread abuse and violence awareness issues. My hope is that by the end of this page, you will know in your heart this book is importance to me.

Photobucket

Please excuse the grammar and spelling mistakes. I do not have an editor for this page, but I assure you I will have one for the book.

WITCHYS WIKKED GRAPHIX
WITCHYS WIKKED GRAPHIX

All writing on this site is © Copyright 2008 by Sherry-Lynn Clyburn. All rights are reserved. Using my work is truly a compliment. If anyone wants to use my writing in part or in whole, just ask and I will grant permission, so long as credit is given where it is due.

Dividers Pictures, Images and Photos

I am the mother of three adult children, and a grand-mother of seven children. I went from a childhood full of abuse into a 17 year relationship, chalked with heartache, betrayal, and overflowing with domestic violence.

Dividers Pictures, Images and Photos

Until I got away from my ex-husband, my motto was


After 5 1/2 years of alone time, I met a wonderful man who has helped me to gain dignity and some respect for the fine person that I am. He treats me like I matter. He has helped me to understand that I am a worthwhile person and he shows me that I am a lady who deserves to be loved. We have been together for 3 years.

Photobucket

I will soon be a published author of a book titled; Shadows of Silence. A book about abuse. Hurray!!!

WITCHYS WIKKED GRAPHIX
WITCHYS WIKKED GRAPHIX

Creating my book has blessed my life in many ways; however the greatest blessing I have received was an ability to embrace my life in a different and a more positive manner. My book has allowed me to step out from behind the Shadows of Silence that prevented me from speaking about what I have endured in my life. Along the way I learned some valuable lessons. The first is to never give up on your dreams because sometimes they do come true.

bigger Pictures, Images and Photos

WITCHYS WIKKED GRAPHIX
WITCHYS WIKKED GRAPHIX

bigger Pictures, Images and Photos

The second was that by looking at the painful events from my past, my healing journey has began. I still have issues to look at and I still have some healing to do, but the important thing is that I am on the right road.

WITCHYS WIKKED GRAPHIX
WITCHYS WIKKED GRAPHIX

and chances are others will too.

I agree with the words in the song, "Unanswered Prayers" by Garth Brooks. If we pray and our prayers come true, then it is meant to be. On the other hand if they do not come true, it is for a reason. Sometimes we get discouraged when our prayers go unanswered, but then a time will arrive that you will actually be thankful that your prayer was not answered.

Due to the abuse I have been exposed to, I have built protective walls that have sheltered me from living life, which merely allowed me to exist. Slowly my walls are coming down and I am letting people get to know me so that I can get to know them too.

WITCHYS WIKKED GRAPHIX
WITCHYS WIKKED GRAPHIX

Betrayals and bad experiences led me to mistrust people in general. I have come to realize that the new people that enter my life are not the people from my past. The new people deserve my trust until, if they ever, give me a reason not too trust. If I had not learned this I would continue to carry on in the loneliness that I have become accustomed to. Being lonely does not bring joy.

Dividers Pictures, Images and Photos

Some information about me.

WITCHYS WIKKED GRAPHIX
WITCHYS WIKKED GRAPHIX

I do not ask people to agree or disagree with me, however I do need others to respect me for me. I live my life my way; you live your life your way.

I am not a religious person who attends church but I do agree with the phrase, Do onto to others, etc…

Serenity Prayer Pictures, Images and Photos

I can not recall a day where I have not said the Serenity Prayer. This is an easy prayer to remember. It helps me through each day, especially when I come across circumstances that I wish were different but there is nothing at that moment that I can do to change it. Believe it or not it helps me to be more accepting of whatever it is that upsets me. An example would be, I have to rely on others or on public transportation to get to the places I want to go. Right now, I cannot do anything about it but, hopefully, one day I will have my drivers license and a car. It will not be today, it will not be tomorrow, and it certainly will not be the next day, but one day. And until that day, I need to have patience.

Because I am somewhat of a perfectionist, sometimes when I set out to do something, such as a craft project, and it does not quite turn out the way I envision, I tend to get disappointed and frustrated. My boyfriend has been with me when this has happened. He just kind of looks at me and he will then ask,"Did you try your best?" I will say yes, Then he says, Well that’s all you can do. He has a motto, "Do your best. Be your best." For some reason, his words always come to mind and his words have helped me in many situations.

No matter what my day is like, when I retire for the night, I look for at least three positives things that happened during my day. The one thing I am certain of is that no matter how many horrible things happen in my day, there are always three positive things to acknowledge and to be thankful for. Sometimes I have to do some soul searching to find them, but they are there. They may not be a positive for another person, but they are my positives. I find focusing on the positive allows me to look forward to the next new day. If I am feeling down to begin with, mauling over my negatives will do nothing more than drag me down even farther.

BUTTERFLIES,DIVIDER

If I am out and about, I try my best to do something nice for another person. It is the simplest task that can make another person smile or make their day a bit better. Carry their groceries, take out a bag of garbage, open a door, smile at someone, etc…

BUTTERFLIES

Most every day I start my day by doing some things for myself. Have a bubble bath or a shower, put on a bit of makeup, a bit of perfume, and paint my nails, curl my hair, then have my coffee or tea, and a little something to eat. I talk to my kids and/or my grandchildren, go to internet sites that provide inspirational messages. The one thing I do every single day with out fail is, I make certain at some point, I watch a 1/2 hour comedy program. It took me many years to learn this. I have spent far too many years crying, so I intend to spend as much of my remaining years, finding things to laugh at and to bring me some joy.

BUTTERFLIES

I try never to criticize, to put others down, or to say mean things to other people.

BUTTERFLIES

I try never to judge others. I have not walked in that person’s shoes, therefore I do not understand why he or she may have done something differently than me. I try to take an honest look at a situation to gain some type of understanding.

ANGEL BABY

I do not give opinions. Sometimes I may say, “Well if it was me I would do this or maybe I would do that.”

I do not gossip. I will say, well they never did nothing to me, so I am not getting involved.

I will never break a confidence. The way I see it, if someone has put trust and faith in me, to tell me something they need to get off their mind, then, I choose to never let that person feel regret for confiding in me. Well I should not say never, there are two instances that I will break a confidence. One is if they discuss suicide and the other is if they are abusing a child.

I try to never take advantage or take someone for granted.

I will never do a task for someone unless my heart is into it. If I cannot do a favor willingly, or with-out being begrudging, I will not stress myself to do something and then carry the guilt or anger around because I did something I did not want to do.

Border Pictures, Images and Photos

I do not loan money with out looking at the truth. The truth being, when you loan a person money, there is a chance you may not get it back. I ask myself if my life will be difficult if I do not get that money returned.

Border Pictures, Images and Photos

YELLOW BEAUTIFUL,SHELL LADY

Photobucket

signs of abuse Pictures, Images and Photos

Child and abuse should not be in one sentence.

Photobucket

Photobucket

What you are about watch, is an example of two people who knew that a child was being abuse. They did not make that crucial call. And now; they will deal with the consequences for the rest of their lives. 

Read more and her blogs at  http://www.myspace.com/sherry2468

Leave a Reply

