Counting Blessings! with Many Voices

March 31, 2010

Click to view this email in a browser

Many Voices Words of Hope

COUNTING BLESSINGS!

Do you ever feel frustrated? You’re working so hard, yet things keep going haywire. The negative attitude takes over your life…
Well, you’re not alone. Lots of MV readers go through these periods, including me.
If you find it hard sometimes, as I do, to keep your spirits up when life hands you one challenge after another, you may want to try some of these ideas:
1. I take the first 12 pages of my journal (I use 3-ring notebooks,) one page for each month, dating each line. This gives me a line a day that can contain ONLY positive things that I experienced that day. I will vent all kinds of garbage & frustration farther back in the journal, on the "real" journal pages…but those first lines that I see when I open the notebook must be filled with progress, happy events, or…if nothing great seems to have happened…then something simple phrased in a positive way. It can be as ordinary as "We had sunshine!" or "My furnace works," or "I fixed a terrific breakfast for myself."
This is my Good News section. Every day holds positive promise. My line-a-day commitment forces me to look back on the past 24 hours to recognize what went right in my life.

PansiesSml.jpg Pansies "smile"

4. If I’m feeling paralyzed, sometimes I force myself to take positive action. I force myself to go for a walk, and smile at three people. I force myself to draw.
Or–this doesn’t take much force for me–I whistle. It’s pretty funny for onlookers, I suppose, to see this 65-year-old woman walking down the street whistling some rocknroll song. But I do it because it pleases me, and the great part about being older–I no longer care much what those onlookers think.

DaffodilsSML.jpg

Daffodils bloom where they are planted. You can too!

2. Because frustration for me usually starts with things I cannot control, I seek out projects that I CAN control. Cleaning a sink is a positive accomplishment. Cooking anything, and (sometimes) asking a friend to share the meal. Any task that can be completed in a short time yields a sense of satisfaction and really improves my mood.

3. When I’m super miserable, I force myself to write down 5-10 things that are OK at that precise moment. Basic facts count, such as "I am able to walk" or  "Three people care about me." This practice doesn’t eliminate the sadness, grief, or pain that I feel. But it helps to put it in perspective. Because for me–and maybe for you–it is very easy to become completely immersed in awfulness. I don’t expect to eliminate misery–misery is real. But hope and healing are real too. My goal is to live in reality, in a balanced way.

5. Another thing I’ve just started doing–when I feel afraid of something that I know isn’t dangerous, I make myself do it. I carefully check beforehand, to make sure it’s not something dumb, like running into traffic. But 99.9% of the things that scare me are not likely to ever cause physical or emotional harm. If someone says "no" to my request, will I die? Not likely. If I enter a contest and lose, will I die? Nope. So why not go ahead and carry things through?

So – those are my best examples…but I’m sure there are many other methods.
Let MV know what YOU do when you’re frustrated or paralyzed with fear.

Please ask Lynn how to  share with MV!

GREAT NEWS!
Our February Printing Bill is PAID!
Thanks in part to renewed advertising from Hollywood Pavilion’s WiiT Program! NOW we’re working on paying for APRIL. If you can help out, please do! 

DONATE NOW VIA PAYPAL

If your hospital or clinic is interested in advertising in our MVMC supplement, contact Lynn. We’d love to help you offer our subscribers top-quality
health care services!  

LET US KNOW WHAT YOU WANT FROM MV, TOO!

PLEASE send feedback to me directly. We hope you’ll want to view our future editions, but if not, just unsubscribe at the bottom of this message, and we will follow your request.  

JOIN MV FANS ON FACEBOOK HERE

Follow MV on TWITTER!

ISSTD Call for Proposals

Accepting submissions now through Friday, April 30, 2010, 11:59pm EDT


Don’t wait!  The website for submissions is now open. ISSTD members, colleagues and supporters are invited to submit proposals online for the 27th Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia. The deadline is April 30, 2010, at midnight EDT.

Go to Online Proposal Submission Information

ISSTD’s 27th annual conference will be held October 16-18 at the Atlanta Hilton Hotel.  There will be two days of Pre-conference workshops on October 14 & 15.
The theme for this year’s meeting is "Clinical Consequences of Complex Psychological Trauma: Assessment, Treatment and Recovery.
We also welcome submissions on other topics that are relevant to Trauma, Dissociation, chronic traumatization, child abuse or other trauma related areas.

Dissociated? Artistic?

Author Jane Hyman (see ad below) is looking for people with dissociated identities to interview about the meanings of artistic creativity. Musicians, actors, theatre directors, dancers, choreographers, or visual artists may apply for possible one-hour interview. May use pseudonyms if you prefer. Email Jane H. Hyman, PhD
All messages will reach only the author and will be strictly confidential.

  HELP YOURSELF and MV Too!
Thanks to the generous gift of donated copies by author Jane Wegscheider Hyman, this excellent and inspiring book is offered to MANY VOICES’ readers at a discount: Only $15 per copy, including media-mail shipping to all US destinations.

From the book jacket: "The women in ‘I Am More Than One’ are living proof that you can find new sources of strength through family and friends, build a rewarding, successful career, and still hold on to your own unique identity." These messages of hope and encouragement are essential reading for people who want to learn how to survive and thrive despite painful histories of trauma and abuse.

Dr. Hyman is a researcher and writer on women’s health and a member of the New England Society for the Treatment of Trauma and Dissociation. She is the author of several well-received, helpful books.

ORDER YOUR COPY NOW DIRECT FROM OUR WEBSITE!

Or call Lynn W. at 513-751-8020, to order over the phone.

IamMoreThanOne.jpg

I AM MORE THAN ONE
How Women with
Dissociative IdentityDisorder Have Found Success in Life and Work
By Jane Wegscheider Hyman PhD

VOLUNTEERS needed! We still need more web-research for the public education site …so if you like to browse the internet, here’s your chance to help MV while you explore! Also, we want lists of community mental health clinics in your area that might appreciate a free subscription to MANY VOICES.  Please contact me if you can help with this.  Substance abuse facilities, homeless shelters and domestic violence shelters are also logical places that might welcome MV. We want to increase our outreach to the people who need us most. THANK YOU!

Forward this message to a friend!

ASK FOR A FREE SAMPLE ISSUE OF MV– FOR YOURSELF OR SOMEONE ELSE!

PLAN AHEAD! WRITE OR DRAW FOR US !

The April issue is on its way–expect it in your mailbox soon, if you’re a subscriber!
If you’re not sure when your subscription expires, ask Lynn!

You can renew your subscription on Paypal, here.

JUNE 2010: Life without therapy. Changing therapists. Coordinating different therapy modalities. ARTWORK: Caring for your Self(ves).

Send NOW ,  & help others heal!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Suggest YOUR ideas for a future SHARING QUESTION. & CHECK OUT THE QUESTION for APRIL
at our SHARING SECTION

Our friend JAN thinks she’s too dependent on her therapist. She wants to start applying the skills she’s worked so hard to learn, during years of therapy. She asks MV Readers if they ever feel "too dependent" and what they do to become more self-sufficient.
Please read through the whole list of Sharing Questions, and reply to any, no matter when the topic first appeared. We Love Fresh Updates to PAST QUESTIONS!

At MV, hatMed.jpgwe make every effort to be helpful to people
recovering from trauma and abuse, their families and friends.
We also want to assist trauma treatment professionals who guide people
in recovery toward a healthier, happier life. Please help us perform these
tasks well by sending your suggestions and input, pro or con, anytime.
Call me personally at 513-751-8020. I want to hear from you!
Sincerely,
Lynn Wasnak, aka Lynn W., Editor and Executive Director

Many Voices
PO Box 2639
Cincinnati, OH 45201-2639

Click Here To Visit Our Website Online!Forward this message to a friend

Leave a Reply

