Surviving Spirit : Mike will be on Oprah! yeah!

October 11, 2010

Great news, Mikes going to be on Oprah, Oct 20th….

Hello Folks,

I realize that you folks are too far away to attend, but given our friendship, I thought to share this news with you.

Take care, Mike

  The Surviving Spirit – Healing the Heart Through the Creative Arts 

Out of suffering have emerged the strongest souls; the most massive characters are seared with scars. – Kahlil Gibran

Hello Folks,

I hope all is well for everyone, no complaints here. Things have been quite exciting here in my little corner of the world. It’s been busy, but with all of the exciting news and events that have been going on, I am certainly not complaining – quite the contrary.

First some really good news, my oldest daughter Alisa gave birth the other day to her second daughter…she and little Ava are both doing well…this is really exciting for “Grandpa Mike”.

And continuing with the ‘good news department’ – please mark your calendars for Wednesday October 20th. Yours truly will be on the Oprah Winfrey Show. This still has me in the “pinch me I’m dreaming mode”…she is doing a show on male survivors of childhood sexual abuse and the whole audience will be made up of male survivors. To be a part of this is truly an honor – still unsure whether my role will be active or passive. But to be asked to be a part of this significant event is quite humbling and so special to me and for the greater good it will have upon society as a whole.

My being away the last two weeks for presentations and performances in NY and CA are the main reason why the late notice in sending out this event news for next Saturday October 16th taking place here in my home in at 38 River Ledge Drive, Goffstown, NH. Once again the Surviving Spirit will be hosting a “house concert” with the doors opening up at 6pm and music to start at 7 pm. Rumor has it that my good friend Chris Schindler may join me once again on bass guitar – very cool!!! If any of my fellow musician friends would like to sing or bring along their own instrument, please do. I also have a conga drum that is crying out to be used!!! There will be two sets of music and in between, a short break for mingling, socializing and learning what the Surviving Spirit is all about. We are trying to build a community of caring folks…so in that ‘spirit’, please do bring along a snack or drink to be shared. Alcohol is permitted at this event – thanks!! If you can attend or need directions, please let me know via e-mail or phone – 603-625-2136.

On a serious note, I am scheduled for surgery on November 8th for the removal of my left thumb joint due to severe arthritis. I am told I will be unable to use the hand for 3 – 4 months. So this will be my last performance for a while, so if you can join me for this night, it would be great to see you.

Take care, Mike

Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.

~Martin Luther King, Jr.

A diagnosis is not a destiny.

www.survivingspirit.com – Healing the Heart Through the Creative Arts

www.mskinnermusic.com – Hope, Healing, & Help for Trauma, Abuse, & Mental Health through music, resources, & advocacy

www.new.facebook.com/profile.php?id=635415804%20  Facebook – for friends, music, & advocacy!! 

mikeskinner@comcast.net       603-625-2136    38 River Ledge Drive, Goffstown, NH 03045 

Leave a Reply

